ICC Cricket World Cup

The Cricket World Cup which is held every four years is the premier international championship of men's One Day International cricket. The tournament is organised by the sport's governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC). There are preliminary qualification rounds leading up to the finals. The Cricket World Cup is the world's fourth largest and most viewed sporting event. According to the ICC, it is the most important tournament and the pinnacle of achievement in cricket. The first event was organised in England in 1975. A separate Women's Cricket World Cup has been held every four years since 1973.

The finals of the Cricket World Cup are contested by all ten Test-playing and One Day International -playing nations, together with other nations that qualify through the World Cup Qualifier. The most successful of the five teams to have won the tournament is Australia, taking four titles. The West Indies have won twice, while India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka have each won once.

The 2007 Cricket World Cup matches were held in the West Indies between 13th March and 28th April. The 2007 event had sixteen teams competing in a pool stage (played in round-robin format), then a "super 8" stage, followed by semi-finals and a final. Australia defeated Sri Lanka in the final to retain the championship.

Why Join Us?

We combine great social networking and excellent content, all in one place!

  • Interests

    Choose the interests you want to follow
  • Community

    Connect with friends and other sports fans
  • Content

    News, Views, Equipment Reviews, Contests & Deals
Join Now

Are you a cricket coach?